Skip to content

2012: The Year of Creativity

December 8, 2011

I’m one of those people who is always looking for excuses to set goals. Not that I always reach all the goals I set, but I love to set them and make a plan to reach them and have outcomes and accomplishments and be able to measure my success.

Or, as is often the case, my failure.

But for 2012, I want to do something a little different. I want to have a creative year.

And no, I’m not sure what that means either. I have some ideas, but I am trying to be serendipitous about it, at least to the extent that I can be serendipitous, anyway!

Some of the things I would like to do include:

Going to the art museums in Charlotte – the Mint, Mint Uptown, and the Bechtler.  Find other museums that are close by and going to them, too.

Going to stores where creativity abounds – Beadlush, Hobby Lobby, Cheap Joe’s Art Stuff, Michael’s…maybe even some ethnic markets.

Spending time in places that spark my thinking – the beach, the mountains, parks, my deck, time with friends, new places… (obviously some of these will take some planning. And that’s ok.)

Trying things I keep saying I want to do – redo a piece of furniture, recover my dining room chairs, try out watercolors and acrylics, finish my novel, put together a chapbook of poetry, cook something new and extravagant, garden, compost, visit the Farmer’s Market, frame all the pictures that are sitting in my family room closet, hang all the things I have collected for my inspiration wall, sew some curtains and pillows…there is so much I want to do that I tend to get overwhelmed and freeze, paralyzed by indecision and fear and prudence.

Well, no more. 2012 is the year that I work on having fun, being creative, letting myself find ways to reflect the beauty I see in the world.

I’m going to put the universe to work here.  I have written down all the things I want to do, as well  as some encouragement to just “be open to opportunities” and put them in a jar…my plan is to draw one and do it. When I’m done, whether it takes an afternoon or a month, draw another one and do it. No pressure, no timelines, no tortuous decision making about “WHAT NEXT??????”  Just choose at random, and do it at my leisure, and see what happens. I trust that the universe will show me the thing I need to do next.

I think it’s the best resolution I have ever made, personally. I’m not sure I can wait until January!! (Confession – I didn’t wait! I bought a sketchbook and I am filling it up, as my little piece of paper enouraged me to!)

This sort of thing is always more fun with friends, so I invite you to join me. You can do a creative year any way that you want to. You can even do a creative month – or just do one thing you’ve been wanting to do. If you decide to do it, leave a comment so we can see what you’re up to!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

