Skip to content

2014 Recap

January 2, 2015

Break a bad habit.

Learn a new skill.

Do a good deed.

Visit a new place.

Read a difficult book.

Write something important.

Try a new food.

Do something for someone who can never pay you back.

Take an important risk.

These were my goals for 2014.

How did I do?

Well, I intermittently did better on some bad habits. Clearly I need to work harder here, or get some help. I do plan to read Gretchen Rubin’s new book on habits as soon as it’s available.

Topsail Beach was my new place. I fell in love. It was perfect in every way. I also went to San Diego, which was fabulous!

I have learned a new skill at work – well, maybe not a skill. I have learned a tremendous amount about the world of low-income housing.  It is not a pretty world. It is gritty and heartbreaking and probably the most difficult thing I have encountered, career-wise. There just isn’t enough safe, decent, affordable housing available. Not in Charlotte, not anywhere. Learning ways to improve that is an ongoing struggle.

I tried to do good deeds. The one that stands out the most was paying for breakfast for an older veteran who was eating alone near our rather raucous family. I just took his check and we paid it, and I told him “thanks for your service, sir. Breakfast is on us.” I think it made me cry a little.

I read The Goldfinch. I read All the Light We Cannot See. I read If I Stay, and Where She Went. I read The Fault in Our Stars, Life After Life, The Signature of All Things. I am not sure if these are what the author of the original list meant by “difficult” but for me, some aspect of each of these books was difficult.

Write something important – yes I did that. I don’t want to say any more than that. But yes. I did that.

I tried sponge candy (no), I was able to eat shellfish again.

I don’t know if I did something for someone who can never pay me back. Does my work count? I got a dog, but he pays me back with love…and fur everywhere.

Take an important risk…yes, I did that too. No further comment.

So I guess I did ok. I think I will continue the tradition and keep these as my resolutions again!

Happy New Year, everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

