Skip to content

Summertime Bucket List

July 14, 2014

I want to eat peaches,
sweet, chilled peaches
stained red by the leaking juice
of berries.

I want to eat BLTs by the ocean,
only no L but add some avocado
and lime
and salt.

I want to drink lemon martinis
that sparkle in my mouth
and pucker my lips
and soften life’s harsh edges.

I want to dare the sea
to come to my chair,
to wet my towel,
to swallow my feet in its foamy embrace.

I want tank tops and flip flops
beach bags and the smell of Coppertone
and sandy children
laughing and squinting into the sun.

I want to listen to music
made by actual living, broken people…
drifting to me, my eyes closed
my heart open.

I want to read your true story
I want to hear your deepest darkest
I want to hold your hand
I want peaches, stained by berries, sweet and juicy in my mouth.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 14, 2014 7:43 pm

    Very good poem. I enjoyed it entirely. It has a depth of desire no reached by most people.

Leave a Reply

