Skip to content

Turn of Phrase

August 14, 2012

Your words wrapped around me

like wisps of

honeyed smoke,

lush and languid, soft and reassuring and gentle,

and I allowed myself to get lost,

I lost myself in the depth of their scent and the

complexity of their flavor and the

weight they held, floating improbably in the small space

we once had.

And then…and then.

Silence,

until your words held weight

your voice could not carry

and your promises lingered,

weightless and taunting, 

long after the air had cleared.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2012 10:03 pm

    Lovely and mysterious… I like it very much.

    • August 15, 2012 10:08 pm

      Thank you! Something about the phrase “honeyed smoke” just stuck with me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

