Skip to content

Beginning

June 3, 2012

Author’s Note

I have always wanted to live at the beach. That’s my big secret, which is really no secret at all. I used to say it all the time, and then people would say “Yeah, well,  we all want to live at the beach after we come back from vacation. But you don’t really want to live there. It’s not always vacation there, you know. Hurricanes, tourists, winter for God’s sake. And the insurance, the cost, the crappy water, and there are no jobs at the beach.”

And my big secret is that yes, I really do want to live there, despite the flaws, despite the downside. I love the bright, hot yellow summers, the long, misty gray winters, the thrill of riding out a hurricane. Tourist season, off season, storm season; all of the seasons of the beach hold charm and promise and inspiration and beauty and danger and frustration and peace for me.

“Everything is raw material. Everything is relevant. Everything is usable.” – Twyla Tharp

So that is my secret.

And that is my philosophy.

And everything is here. And by the time I’m done, I will have used it all.

One way or another.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 3, 2012 10:36 pm

    That was a great post. I really enjoyed it very much. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Enjoy writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

Leave a Reply

