Skip to content

High maintenance

May 21, 2012

I don’t drink any soda except Fresca and diet root beer. I’m drowning in unsweetened tea and water isn’t going to cut it with my fiery burrito bowl. I bring a Fresca from work and drink it boldly, daring someone at Chipotle to say something.

No one does. I’m flagrantly breaking unspoken rules and no one cares.

I am perplexed, a bit. Wondering, quietly, what other rules I could be breaking with no consequence. The list is long, dizzyingly long. I realize how many rules I follow, how much no one else cares whether I do or I don’t.

I hide my can beside me, less bold than before, for some reason. Someone could care, I suppose.

Some days I don’t make sense, even to myself. Today is one of those days.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

