Skip to content

Old Soul

February 3, 2012

There’s something about listening

to a man

singing to a woman

from the depths of his soul

that makes me want to slow dance

with a man who loves me

let’ s stay together

not the kind of box stepping, no-body-parts-touching slow dancing

you do at a wedding

when your old widowed aunts

and your grandma might be watching

but the kind of slow dancing

oh girl

where you melt into me

and I melt into you,

the kind of slow dancing

that they banned at the prom.

The kind of slow dancing that

leads to something,

the kind where you stroke my hair,

the kind where I can’t get close enough to you.

i’d be in trouble if you left me now

The kind where we realize

we don’t want to lose each other,

the kind that leaves no doubt

about this thing between us,

ain’t no sunshine when she’s gone

the kind of slow dancing that children shouldn’t watch

a communion of souls

a forgiveness of sins

the resurrection of a life

you make me feel so brand new

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 7:03 am

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

