Skip to content

Left of Centre

September 24, 2011

It’s a rainy, thundery Saturday. I’m pretty sure it was supposed to be sunny today, but no matter. The thunder woke me up and that’s all right, it was a gentle, rolling thunder rather than a crashing, demanding one. I’m glad. Glad it’s rainy. Glad it’s Saturday. I’m one of those left of centre people who opens the blinds and the curtains on days like today, letting the gentle gloom and the gray light my home. On sunny days I tend to hibernate, hide from brightness and warmth. I’m not sure what that says about me, but I’m sure it says something.

I see a day like to day as a sign to slow down, to snuggle under the covers and watch bad movies. It’s a time to let my mind wander, my body rest, my soul rejuvenate. It’s the kind of day that has me aching to cook, to bake, to write, to read. There is much to be done in the clouds and the fog, much coziness to be found in my home, with my girls. And I guess that is the feeling I crave, that warm acceptance of people I love who love me, after spending my days out in this mixed up crazy world where we work more than we play, where a pokerย  face is more valuable than authenticity, where love scares people away and need makes us appear weak.

So despite the plans that will be cancelled, the kids who will be bored and begging for something to do, the wet footprints that will be tracked in from outside, I am glad for this gloomy, thundery Saturday.I’m glad for quiet rain and puddles to splash in and lush green grass and blooming fall flowers. I’m grateful for a day to indulge my melancholy, to dwell in some gray areas and not live so reluctantly in the black and white of day and night.

<a href="“>

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 12:06 am

    I love how your post makes me feel all cozy and want to curl up by a fireplace and listen to the pitter patter of rain on my window.

    • September 25, 2011 8:10 am

      Thanks, Christian! That is definitely my favorite thing about Fall and Winter! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. September 25, 2011 1:44 am

    this is lovely … what an incredible view you have, I am trying not to be envious! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • September 25, 2011 8:11 am

      Thanks Sarah – I have to be honest, that isn’t my view, sadly. It’s a picture I took while on vacation this summer. We drove over the bridge, and the fog settling in the valley was so spectacular we HAD to stop and snap some shots! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. September 25, 2011 9:39 pm

    loveliness~
    thank you…

  4. September 28, 2011 8:59 pm

    this was really a great post.. just reading the post made me feel cozy, and longing for my home in vancouver! although we shared a similar saturday I had no rain to listen too.. I’ll be back for more!

Leave a Reply

