Skip to content

Drowning

September 14, 2011

I feel almost like I am drowning in this book. In a good way.

If you can, you know, drown in a good way.

All the rivers of words I read this summer to escape (from what? from everything!)  have borne me to a river of words I myself am writing. Everyone else’s words have converged to take me to my own, and leave me there.

To sink or to swim.

Whichever way it goes is up to me.

So here’s a teaser about the book. THE BOOOOOK

It’s called watermark. With a lower-case w. I don’t know why but I like it that way and I will fight for it if the time ever comes.

When the time comes.

It asks the question – what if the thing you thought was the defining moment in your life, the moment that shaped everything about you, the moment that sealed your fate and your destiny, was based on a lie?

And what if, while watching your life and your fate and your destiny unravel, you found out the truth?

And what if the truth brought you what you wanted, and  everything was coming back to you in the end, just not in the way you expected? (apologies to Luna Lovegood)

It asks these questions and I don’t know if it answers them.

The title is from a poem I wrote a long time ago:

Ghost

We will never fully disappear

from one another.

This impossible love

will never completely

dissipate,

will never be wholly, (holy) diminished,

will never

let go,

once

and

for all.

Your love is

a watermark

across my whole life;

a ghost image

in the picture I keep

of what love looks like;

an orb, a bright shining light

I will always be subtly drawn to,

a secret, small  smile

my children ask me about.

###

It was one of those poems that just showed up out of nowhere.

So, now you know where all my words are going and I swear if anything interesting happens I’ll write about it here!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2011 6:47 am

    Once again, you have drawn me in with your lovely words and have me wanting more! Keep writing, sweet friend!

  2. September 21, 2011 9:26 am

    I love the name of that book! Of course, these days, I’m a little attracted towards mentions of “water.” 🙂

    So glad to see you writing!

    • September 21, 2011 11:20 am

      Thank you so much!! I have had a few days off but I am SO ready to be back to it tonight! 🙂

      I have ordered your book and I am very excited to read it 🙂

Leave a Reply

