Skip to content

Blackberries

June 26, 2011

Glistening in my grandfather’s bowl

Perfect, clustered jewels

Beads of water clinging to small, enchanted spaces.

Tempting me

with their sensual promises

of sweet

dark flavor

exploding in my mouth.

The anticipation builds,

my memory teases me with

the taste of perfect summers past.

I take one precious

perfect

berry,

and pop it in my mouth and unable to stop myself I bite

hard

and

its flavor is too sharp, too tart

and I find that I do not want

another.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 8:53 am

    yeah, okay – WAY tempting… *grin*

    Thank you for your three words – I am ALL about passionate people. And come on. Who gets down and lyrical about blackberries like this? *grin*

    I am going to have to come here again – there is such a lovely, welcoming feel here…

    • July 6, 2011 9:11 am

      Thank you so much, Kelly! That means a lot to me – I look forward to “seeing” you again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

