Skip to content

Oh, Hey! I remember you…

January 16, 2011

I went for a walk today, just around my neighborhood. I walked for exercise, but I intentionally walked in silence so I could give my mind plenty of room to wander, and it wandered back to a novel I abandoned about 3 years ago. I thought the story was dead but it seems maybe there’s a spark there, something that with the right amount of kindling and tending could turn into something.

I’m excited – I liked this concept from the beginning.  But it’s a little dark and a little twisted and even though I fight mightily against my own darkness, I think I’m in the right place to write it now.  I don’t want to say too much and have the fragile bubble of reacquaintance burst in my hands, so I will just tell you…it’s family drama, a story I have never read or heard before, and it’s a cautionary tale.

I’m working on character names, setting, backstories…but the story is firmly planted and hopefully has taken root, since I’ve been thinking about it for so long.

I’m not going to make any promises or plans as to when this will be done or how I’ll write 2 pages a day or the whole thing in a month…life is too hard and hectic for all that….but I will use my exercise time to think and write when I can.

I’m just thrilled to be thinking about writing something again…it’s been a long time since my ideas seemed worthy of working on.

I’m not sure if the ideas are better or if I’m better…either way, I’ll take it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 6:35 pm

    It’s amazing when you get that feeling that it’s the right time to do something that you previously tried to and couldn’t. Use your renewed energy quick! When my gut tells me something is so right, it’s a good sign or it’s as if something is trying to push me in the right direction and doing the thing could lead somewhere really important. Good luck. 🙂

  2. January 16, 2011 6:40 pm

    Thanks so much! I am pulling out old pages tonight and letting the characters guide me. Seems they have awakened from a long long sleep!! 🙂

  3. January 19, 2011 11:06 am

    I love this for so many reasons. I love that ideas, new and vintage, can simply alight when we are otherwise engaged. I love that stories take root withing and grow rather than wither. I also love that you are willing to plunge into the darkness to write. I am in the early stages of a novel that has dark underpinnings too and I am anxious. But I am also aware, and keenly, that it is a story worth telling. Now maybe I just need to implement some daily walks to make it all come together.

    Pleased to have made my way here to your words.

    • January 19, 2011 9:06 pm

      Thank you so much!! I’m glad you made it here as well, and I hope the daily walks help you as much as they help me…when I have time. I am really looking forward to the weekend when I can definitely get some time outside in the quiet and the sunshine!

      I sometimes also get good ideas or fresh eyes on an old idea when I do chores around the house – changing beds, vacuuming, etc.

      As for writing in the darkness, all of my ideas seem to have some darkness to them, maybe it’s an alter-ego thing, maybe it’s a misguided attempt to face my fears, maybe it’s a burgeoning understanding that without the darkness it’s hard to see how light the light really is.
      I guess unless I actually write it I’ll never really know!

      Thank you again, I hope you will come back by!!

Leave a Reply

