Skip to content

Unfamiliar

January 3, 2011

In dreams, pictures of a life I never had

flash past,

a movie I never made

a script I didn’t write,

characters I don’t know, couldn’t have invited;

costumes I never would have chosen;

a plot too twisted for my sleepy brain to follow,

the score so beautiful, so haunting it stayed with me all day – but so complicated I could never describe it adequately.

This dream, this dream of something

foreign and strange and far away

from what I ever imagined I wanted in any incarnation of my life

got me thinking –

does it scare me, or entice me?

Do I want it or fear it?

Will it inspire me to try something, some small and insignificant something new,

or will it send me running, desperate and panting,

for the familiar,

the usual,

the thing I’m supposed to want?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christina Cronk permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:05 pm

    Excellent question! I’m sure we all ask similar questions of ourselves. I know I do. Thank you for expressing it so eloquently 🙂 and nice to meet you.

    • January 3, 2011 11:08 pm

      Nice to meet you as well!! Thank you so much for coming by – I’m glad you enjoyed the poem! 🙂

Leave a Reply

