Skip to content

Again with the therapy

December 30, 2010

December 30 – Gift. This month, gifts and gift-giving can seem inescapable. What’s the most memorable gift, tangible or emotional, you received this year? (Author: Holly Root)  

The saintly therapist, who after he met me the first time surely must have put a deposit down on that yacht he’s had his eye on, said to me, on one of those days when I needed it,

“Shannon, it’s ok to change your mind. It’s ok to see a situation in a new way and come to a new conclusion. It is ok for something to have changed – and for that something to have caused your reaction to change.”

I’m pretty sure that when my 45-70 minutes are up each session, he has to have a nap.

But that was, perhaps, the greatest gift I received this year.

That, and hearing my mom say the same thing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2010 11:35 pm

    That is a great gift, and one I need to give to myself more often. Great post!

    Jeanine

    • December 30, 2010 11:43 pm

      Yes, we ALL deserve to reserve the right to change our minds. Someone smarter than me said it best – do you want to be RIGHT or do you want to be HAPPY? Sometimes digging in your heels just because you’re right (or you THINK you’re right) does not lead to the actual desired outcome. Sometimes you have to bend a little, and be willing to change your mind, and in the end you might just get to be happy! At least, that’s what I’m hoping for! 🙂 Thank you for coming by – I hope you have a great and prosperous New Year!

      Shannon

Leave a Reply

