Skip to content

I’m All Right

December 27, 2010

December 24 Prompt – Everything’s OK What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead? (Author: Kate Inglis)

It could have been any of many moments. The day I woke up for the first time in months without excruciating pain in my hip, the day I found out my agency had been awarded a huge grant, the day I landed on a  loveseat in the back office of a busy medical practice and heard a therapist tell me it’s ok, we can fix this, you will be feeling better in a few weeks if not before. It could have been the night I had been at the Urgent Care with my daughter for hours when a doctor finally listened to me and said yes, let’s treat this – you know your kid and if you say she’s sick, she’s sick. Maybe it was the day I deleted an old blog that needed to go – or maybe it was the day I started writing again. Maybe it was Christmas, when I unwrapped a coffee mug from my husband – and it had the word “Reinvent” emblazoned on it, and I knew that he knew I was in the midst of some things.

All of these moments reminded me that no matter how bad I think things are, they always get better. No matter how hopeless or lost or adrift I may feel, I always come back to me, to where I dwell and where I find peace and where I find inspiration.

It may take awhile to get here – sometimes it’s a long, arduous, expensive journey. But I always, always get here, and I always find that I am better for having strayed – and for having come back.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 12:26 pm

    Great post! Things are always bound to get better, that’s something everyone should remember.

    • December 27, 2010 1:49 pm

      If I could give the whole world a gift, it would be knowing that things WILL get better. Somehow, some way, some day, things will get better.

  2. December 28, 2010 6:32 am

    Lovely. It takes too much energy to keep up worry constantly. I’m glad you’ve had some breaks from it this year. 🙂

    • December 28, 2010 8:58 am

      Thanks so much, Kate. I really enjoy your work and I have been a fan for awhile – it means a lot that you came by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

