Skip to content

Contortion

December 20, 2010

December 20 – Beyond Avoidance What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?) (Author: Jake Nickell)

What I should have done this year?

Well.  I don’t use should language with myself. I know, in my heart and in my head, that for the most part I am doing the very best that I can. So I don’t beat myself up with the shoulds. What do I wish I had found a way to do this year? Yoga.

I see the yoga people and they seem to be so peaceful, so zen, so flexible, so troublingly untroubled that I feel a primal pull toward them.  That… I tell myself. That’s what I want. I have always wanted to do yoga, to center myself, to disengage from all this and find a way to connect to that.

My mind needs it. But I don’t trust my body to do it.

So we shall see, in 2011, if I find a way to trust my joints, my muscles, my bones, my strength to try yoga, to find the center I always wonder about missing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Camilla permalink
    January 4, 2011 9:01 am

    Try meditation. It gives you the same peace and centeredness that comes from yoga, but is easier on the body! Yoga is simply a physical form of meditation, when it comes right down to it. You can even learn to do walking meditation, and get in some exercise at the same time if you wish. But at a bare minimum, sit quietly, breath in, breath out, and be aware of each breath. “Breathing in, I know that I am breathing in. Breathing out, I smile.” Try this for 10-15 minutes, at least once a day. It works great when you are feeling stressed out.

Leave a Reply

