Skip to content

It Takes a Village

December 16, 2010

December 16 – Friendship How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst? (Author: Martha Mihalick)

 This year, this weird, wild, wonderful, terrible year, my friends changed my perspective on friendship. As I struggle to maintain balance between needing people and being independent, between alone and lonely, between surviving and thriving, my friends have ably guided me through the murky waters of learning to  live interdependently.  They showed me what it means to stand by a person, to open your heart to a person, to be vulnerable to a person and to handle another person’s vulnerability. They reminded me how powerful the words “I love you” and “I’m here for you” and “I support you no matter what” really are – and how much more powerful it is when people actually do those things for you.

They taught me, and showed me, the importance of showing up, of listening, of being smart and funny and knowing when to let a person cry and rant and believe that the world is ending and then to be there the next morning when the person wakes up and realizes hey, the world is continuing. And so must I…

My friends showed me the  beauty of the tribe, the beauty of each and every one of us and the amazing ways we complement each other, when we open up and show each other our most authentic selves. They brought truth and vision and clarity and inspiration and love to me, and I hope that I somehow returned what they needed, that the things they came to me for were readily available to them.

Most of all, my friends showed me, and told me, and helped me see, the things that lie within me that I lose sight of sometimes, the things I forget that I know about myself, the strength I needed but couldn’t find.

To my friends  my beautiful, wonderful, amazing, funny, smart, supportive, visionary friends,  you have changed me in ways I can’t articulate. You have given me things I can never repay. You have shown me beauty I never would have otherwise seen. And all I can say is Thank You, and I love you, and I’m here for you, and nothing would have…nothing could have, been the same without you.

xxoo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

