Skip to content

Outward Expression

December 15, 2010

December 14 – Appreciate What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it? (Author: Victoria Klein)

I have learned, in 2010, to appreciate the beauty and stress-reducing power and serenity of a clean and tidy house.  We had our house on the market for the first half of the year and so we had to maintain a picture perfect home, ready for a showing at a moment’s notice. And even though I absolutely hate cleaning, I began to feel the zen of showing my house how much I loved it by keeping it clean and straight. I tried to look at chores as meditation – as a time to get lost in my own head and let my thoughts wander wherever they wanted to wander.  I started looking forward to coming home and walking in the front door and feeling the sanctuary, the peace, the feelings of pride and accomplishment that resulted from my work and meditation… and I really appreciated the saying that a person’s environment is an outward expression of his or her inward chaos…and as the environment improved and became beautiful, I found energy to deal with the inward stuff.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

