Skip to content

Love and Light and Truth

December 13, 2010

December 8 – Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author: Karen Walrond)

My first reaction when I read this prompt was excitement (I thought I was going to get to write a post about hair and boobs!) – and then I really started thinking about it. What do I do that lights people up? I….um….do I do anything that lights people up? And if I do…well…how do I write about without sounding so self-important that I make myself want to gag?

So I asked Facebook – what I makes each of YOU beautifully different? And the answer? *crickets* Except for my friend Jay who helpfully pointed out that I had misspelled “stumped.”

Then I looked at it from another angle – what is it that people talk to me about most? What do people ask from me – because if people are asking me for something consistently, it must be something that they want or need from me, right?

Some of the things that I have come up with that might make me beautifully different are weird – like, not the kinds of things normal people would think of. But I never, ever said I was normal! So…

Reiki – I mentioned earlier that I am a Reiki Master and I have been doing Reiki for over a year. Reiki is a traditional Japanese energy healing technique, and I am a firm believer in its power. When I was struggling to get pregnant, some volunteers showed up at the agency I worked for and they wanted to do Reiki sessions for our clients for free. Well. Our clients said maybe, but this sounds a little “woo woo” (technical term) and so they wanted someone else to go first. I had no problem with it, even with only minimal knowledge, so I volunteered. It was wonderful. I could feel and visualize stress leaving my body. I could feel my chakras opening up. I felt relaxed, cleared, detoxed, and energized.  Is it a coincidence that a month or so later I was pregnant? I don’t think so – I had tried many fertility treatments and medications and western medical interventions – and none of them worked. But a few sessions of Reiki, where the practitioners, Larry and Nancy, placed their hands over critical places on my body and invited the energy to do its work, and BOOM I was knocked up.

Consequently, I believed.

And now, many years later, I found a Reiki mentor and learned a different kind of Reiki – one that works over distance, called Kundalini Reiki, and once I felt comfortable with it I started offering free Reiki on Sunday nights for people who were interested. And when I see that people have posted, on FB or Twitter, about some ailment that Reiki can help with, I always offer a session so they can see if it helps…and this has helped my Sunday Night Reiki list grow to about 30 people, which makes me so happy! It is, for me, an easy way to help people on a very personal level.

Reiki can help with anything that is caused by your energy being off-balance. Anxiety, depression, sleeplessness and other signs of emotional distress, as well as physical pain – migraines usually respond really well to Reiki, along with back and joint pain, dental pain, post-surgery pain, symptoms from cancer treatment…one of my “clients” has RA and she says it helps her tremendously, especially on treatment days.

The thing that drives me nuts about Reiki is that I seem to have really strong but gentle (as in, not agressive) energy when I send it to other people. But when I practice self-care, it’s not as effective. I think it’s a block that I have – and several of my Reiki friends say the same thing is true for them. So, that’s something I’m working on.

Another thing that I think makes me different is that I’m an open book (until I’m not).  But mostly I am – there are very few things I won’t share with people, very few things that I feel completely uncomfortable talking about. Everyone knows I’m in therapy, everyone knows I’m a bleeding heart liberal who supports gay rights and human rights and political asylum for the persecuted. I talk to people about very intimate details of their lives and I somehow manage to make them feel comfortable doing so.  I know my faults and my strengths and I am ok with most of them – I definitely believe in the power of self-awareness and self-disclosure and working on your shit – because seriously, we all have shit. And if you want to get into a conversation about it, I am happy to share – and if you care, I will tell you what has worked for me in dealing with a thing and then maybe you can save a couple of visits to the therapist and you can deal with your thing too.

I think people come to me for the truth. I do try to avoid bashing people over the head with their own truth or the truth of a situation – what I aim to do, instead, is lead them gently to their truth or the truth of a situation, and when they hear it coming out of their own mouths it seems more like a revelation and less like an incrimination.

So I hope these things I love to do really do light other people up, make me beautifully different, make my friends feel loved and cherished and nurtured, because the bottom line about me is that if the people I love walk away knowing I have loved them, then I am doing something right. It may be different, but I hope it’s also beautiful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 8:38 am

    I enjoyed reading your post!

    • December 14, 2010 11:45 am

      Thanks, girlie! I miss you – we need a movie night or a Coldplay/wine/french braiding night – maybe after the holidays are over and life slows down a little! 🙂

Leave a Reply

