Skip to content

Love Through Food

December 10, 2010

December 6 – Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it? (Author: Gretchen Rubin)

I show love through food – I have, ever since I was in the 4th grade and I was beleagured by spring allergies and I couldn’t go outside and play and my mom said look, child, find SOMETHING to do, and I found her red Betty Crocker cookbook and what I found to do was cook. Bake, actually.  My first solo foray into the kitchen was homemade bread.

I mixed the ingredients, I kneaded, I let it rise, I shaped it, I let it rise again and I baked it.

And, by all accounts, it was wonderful. When I look back, though, I’m sure it wasn’t.  But that was the moment that I was hooked on cooking.  The process, the ingredients, the magic…and something beautiful and nourishing and necessary results from my efforts, and it makes the people I love happy.  Who wouldn’t be hooked?

So the last thing I made was spaghetti and meatballs to take to a friend’s home for family dinner last Sunday.  I mized ground beef and ground pork, bread crumbs, an egg, parmesan cheese, spices and herbs, and shaped them into ping-pong sized balls. I baked them for a few minutes and voila! The magic happened and my meatballs made the transition from ingredients to food, from a recipe to love. 

So I threw the meatball-shaped love into some Gladware and took  my crockpot and some Trader Joe’s marinara over to my friend’s…once there we heated it all up and let it simmer while we chatted and our kids played. We made some garlic bread and some spaghetti and 4  hungry little ones were soon clamoring for a plate of dinner. 

It’s so gratifying to cook for people I love – it’s definitely one of the best things about my life, my love of cooking and the fact that I am blessed enough to be able to indulge in it anytime I want to.

This weekend I am hosting a small cookie swap, so this afternoon I’ll be making 3 different cookies (2 of them are definitely signature dishes!) and I can’t wait to swap all that love and sugar and butter and magic with my friends.

I am blessed, indeed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

