Skip to content

Fairy Tale

December 9, 2010

December 5 – Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why? (Author: Alice Bradley)

This year I let go of fairy tales.

Well, let me clarify. I let go of The Fairy Tale. You know, the one where life turns out perfectly and love lasts forever and everything just works if something is meant to be. I gave up the idea of happily ever after, I gave up trying to fit my modern, harried, hectic self into an archaic Disney shaped mold, which ultimately made me feel wonky and dissheveled.

Instead I embraced the idea of happy moments, happy days, and that somehow they would be enough to sustain me through the hard days, the less happy moments.

I embraced the notion that love is work, marriage is work, friendships are work, being a mom is work, being a daughter is work, being a sister is work, being a good person is work. But it’s work that’s worth it – worth the sweat and tears and hurt because the payback for that is love, and the sustaining and understanding love from the people who surround you is worth any risk.

I embraced the truth that I do have it all – I have a family, a career, identity, friends, hobbies, faith, and hope. It’s almost impossible to have it all at once, and sometimes that means I have to take a day off for no good reason, sometimes that means I have to get someone to watch the kids just because I need a break, and sometimes that means I need to listen to “Hark the Herald Angels Sing” over and over as I drive toward the sunset, toward home, and let myself cry at the beauty and impossibility of it all.

I embraced my imperfection, my incompleteness, my unworthiness, my unconventional ideals and my difficulty in finding perfect balance.

And in letting go of The Fairy Tale, I found blessings that abound in every area of my life. I found silver linings, lost love and new friends. 

I found, in my letting go, an abundance of happy moments and happy days.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 7:13 am

    This is really beautiful.

  2. December 14, 2010 9:18 pm

    oh, i’m so glad you waved me over to this one! what a treasure. what you let go of gave you more room for what needs holding onto, didn’t it? funny how that happens.

Leave a Reply

