Skip to content

One Word

December 7, 2010

(Check out this website to get the idea about what I’m doing this month…)

December 1 – One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? (Author: Gwen Bell)

One word that describes 2010 is action. There are a number of things I have taken action on – my physical health, my mental health, improving some ways that I deal with things, being intentional, setting boundaries and (working towards) maintaining them.

I have noticed that inaction among others is the thing that is driving me most crazy these days. Indecision, wait and see, not yet, maybe, I’m not sure, I don’t know, let me check with someone else, waiting for a sign, and I want to but I just can’t see how…all of those things are excuses for inaction. Inaction causes stress…and stress causes me to get crazy.

So this year I have been making an effort to NOT do that myself…to stop letting excuses pile up, to STOP talking myself out of taking action, to STOP letting fear rule me.  It’s a process, most definitely. And not an easy one. But I have to admit that sometimes JUST DOING IT, even if IT is scary, is far less stressful than worrying about IT and then putting IT off and then finally DOING IT. 

My goal for 2011 is to apply that principle to a couple of additional areas in my life…exercise, writing, other things.  But since action was my word for 2010, I need a different word for 2011.

My word for 2011 is going to be FRUITION.

I want to see my desires and wants and needs and talents and gifts and mostly IDEAS come to fruition in 2011.  I want to continue taking ACTION and watch it all happen.  In fact, I think it’s time to make a vision board, as I have wanted to do for years, and put FRUITION really big in the middle of it.

So – ACTION…brings things to FRUITION…and as 2010 winds down, I am looking forward to using the lessons I have learned this year to manifest my desires for next year. And isn’t that the meaning of life? Isn’t that purpose? Isn’t that why we are here? Maybe?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 12:09 pm

    I can so relate to your post! I am a Navy spouse and trying to find a new career path. It is like my life is a bunch of stops n’ starts. I have lived in limbo and hate it. I ,too this year chose to put myself out there more. It is scary, but I feel free and not so bogged down with the thoughts of doing it or the fear. I submitted some art work, but now feel the maybe, maybe not and not knowing. I am trying to work my way through these emotions and continue on the path. I have 2 paths I’d like to travel, so reading and gaining momentum are my steps right now.

    Nice to meet you~

    • December 7, 2010 1:26 pm

      Nice to meet you as well! I think reading and gaining momentum and extremely important steps on any path you want to travel. I have found therapy to be enormously helpful to me in dealing with these sorts of issues. I think that the fear of maybe, maybe not, not knowing is one of the things that keeps me from writing and finishing…but I am slowly just deciding I don’t CARE about the fear – and that some days it will suck and I’ll get 5 rejection letters, but SOME DAY I will get the letter/phone call/email I want to get. So keep putting yourself out there! Thanks so much for coming by and commenting – it means a lot to me!! Shannon

Leave a Reply

