Skip to content

It’s Gonna Be a Very Good Year

January 20, 2014

I try not to make New Year’s Resolutions because, you know, no one ever keeps those. So I found this list of “Things to Do” instead. I like the tone of it. See what you think:

Break a bad habit.

Learn a new skill.

Do a good deed.

Visit a new place.

Read a difficult book.

Write something important.

Try a new food.

Do something for someone who can never pay you back.

Take an important risk.

These things – they are doable, but they aren’t necessarily easy. And that’s the goal, right? Stretching beyond where you are and seeing where growth can happen.

I wish there were 12 so I could do one a month, because my brain likes that level of organization. But not all of these tasks should be done in exactly one month. So I am going to work on things until I am done and then move on to the next one (though it’s possible, because life, I may be doing some concurrently). First up:

Break a bad habit.

I uh, I may have more than one.

The two I want to work on are: Fresca and making my bed. My bad habits are drinking Fresca mindlessly and never, ever making my bed. So I instituted soda rules for me and the girls, and we are definitely going to get this under control.

1. Bottles of soda stay in the kitchen. You must come to the kitchen for a refill.

2. Drink an equivalent amount of water between each soda.

3. No soda at bedtime – take milk, water or tea to bed with you.

So far, one day in, not too many complaints, and my older daughter volunteered to be responsible for refilling the water pitcher. Excellent.

As for making my bed- I bought some new sheets and I am spending part of my day today sprucing up my room. Of course no room looks fully spruced until the bed is made. Then I will just make it as I get out of it and hopefully break my slovenly, frat boy-like habit of leaving my bed unmade for weeks on end.

Kaizen, the practice of taking small steps to change a bigger thing,  really works for me, so I will be using it on many issues that need work. I’ll keep you posted.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2014 7:05 pm

    I like this list! I try to make my bed each day. When I do, it makes the whole room look better. Good luck on the fresca!

    • January 21, 2014 6:51 am

      Thanks – I don’t necessarily think I have to give it up completely but I want to break the mindless habit of having one at hand all the time! I did make my bed this morning – after work I need to put all my laundry away – that will help too! LOL

  2. January 20, 2014 9:30 pm

    Not making your bed means you’re just giving the bed a good airing before you sleep in it the next night.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,738 other followers

